Some would say I have a zany work life.

I work at a supermarket, part time; I teach sales and personal development as well as advise at a major university — part time.  I am also a blogger who has reached the pointed that I must blog every day or else I feel lost. As I approach 150 blog posts this year being the “Grosser on a Mission” analyzing trends in supermarket, food packaging, sales, and throw in virtual reality some would agree and say this is a puzzle.

(By the way, if you have a product design that needs to be analyzed with a keen eye, contact me – Rob at groceronamssion@gmail.com.)

On top of that I am also a husband and a parent. Ironically, the dilemma I face is how I have challenges cooking a well balanced meal.

Sure it’s easy to throw hot dogs in a sauce pan, or boil water for spaghetti and use the microwave for foods filled with preservatives. But I’m ready to change and cook.

Men: we need to cook better, — and we can.

Yesterday I served roasted asparagus, wild rice and Maryland crab cakes with a beverage all for less than $15.

How did I do this?

  1. I purchased a small bushel of asparagus with the ends cut off and roasted them at 400 degrees in a pre-heated oven for 12 minutes. I seasoned them with minced garlic, olive oil and crushed black pepper. The cost $3.99 for the asparagus from The Fresh Market and minced garlic I already had.
  2. Two Maryland crab cakes. I cooked them in a conventional oven for 12 minutes at 400 degrees. The cost $5 from The Fresh Market.
  3. One 10oz bag of BirdEye Steamer of Brown & White rice with  Corn, Carrots and Peas purchased from Publix for $1.99.
  4. One 12oz bottle of Bruce Cost Pomegranate Ginger Ale at Fresh Market. Cost $2.29.

Drum roll please…

Total cost for dinner for two: $14.47 (I think counting in my head).

My wife was pleased, which is always a good thing.  My son, liked the asparagus but was fine with Amy’s Mac and Cheese, a small salad and three Perdue chicken nuggets with ketchup.

I’m working on more meals too. Affordable and healthy.

If you have any meals to share; please do.

Happy and Healthy eating.

 

