As a grocery clerk working for leading supermarket, I have the opportunity to observe customers shopping habits in terms of sales, preferences and how much they fill up their shopping carts either overflowing it or keeping it 10 items or less. Are they picking up a gallon of milk and some chips in a hurry or are they stock piling for a family of five for a week. This all leads me to Jet.com, another online store that offers deals and savings to customers who sign up.

I liked their website, flooded with purple, showcasing their young, enthusiastic staff with tons of energy to burn. They offer a decent range of products from laundry detergent, baby food, paper products, health and beauty and dry grocery items like Kind Bars. They also sell accessories for women and men as well as televisions.

So I received a business reply card (BRC) in the mail from Jet.com, utilizing a guerrilla marketing strategy to reach me. They have been bombarding me via my email account too.

Anyway I decided to take a closer look, since I am a food broker.

Founded by Marc Lore, the logic behind the company is that you will get more savings with the more you spend. The promotion I was offered is to get a whopping $11 dollars off each of my first three orders, in fine print the customer must spend a minimum purchase of $35 dollars. The delivery is expected to be received within two days.

Nice concept. When I took a closer look at their site they said that returns would not be accepted if they waive their opportunity to get savings. Having groceries shipped to your door is not a new concept and I am waiting for the day when companies like Amazon, Google and perhaps Facebook perfect the home grocery delivery model. The concept can benefit customers who are parents home with their children or their aging parents, as well a millennials who don’t have the time (or a car) to go to their local supermarket.

I wonder if the concept will fly or will Jet. com be gobbled up by the Amazons of the world or crumble like the dot.com did in the early 2000s. They need to be remarkable and what I mean by that is that their customer service must be 0n a 5-star level all the time, and customers must, must, must be getting a better deal, because I can assure you that even though convenience is great, that people still like to get out and shop at their local supermarket, which is becoming one of those places to socialize (not counting places like church and Starbucks) to peruse the aisles and find great deals.

I was also wondering if you can use coupons (paper or digital) to ramp up the savings. Regardless it will be interesting of this concept will be or currently is profitable. Again, if you don’t have transportation or a broken leg then this could work. However, supermarkets are adapting this concept or partnering with Amazon (Whole Foods) and Google to also deliver groceries to your door. I would love to know what percentage of the population is already this and where are they located (i.e.. big metropolitan cities).

Jet.com looks like they are getting traction and wants to grow rapidly based on their help wanted links. I’ll be following them, but I’m not sure I am going to act on the promotion they sent me. If you use Jet.com please feel free to share your experience on my blog.

